Saturday, January 30, 2021
Historic postcard of first schoolhouse in Kentucky
The replica at Old Ford Harrod State Park is of the first schoolhouse in Kentucky looks “as though Mrs. Jane Coomes might appear any moment to summon the fort children to their lessons.” Jane Coomes came to Kentucky with her husband William in 1775 as members of a group of Catholics from Maryland.
In 1776 Mrs. Coomes became the first school teacher in Kentucky and the first woman at Fort Harrod to boil spring water and produce salt. In her teaching of the fort children, Mrs. Coomes used the primitive version of the Old English Horn Book. These “books” were of clapboard and paddle-shape, the handle whittled to fit the little fingers, and the alphabet or Lord’s Prayer crudely drawn with berry juices or charcoal.
Harrodsburg Post Office
Mural of the first school teacher and schoolhouse
Jane Coomes taught her lessons to the young pioneers during her ten years at Fort Harrod, bringing education to the frontier and hope for the future of Kentucky, until she resettled in Nelson County.
Historic photo from The Harrodsburg Herald The old Harrodsburg High School.
Photo from Marita Frank This is a photo from December 1964 at a Cricketeer retirement party for Bertha Warner, shared by her granddaughter...
The following photos are by Clay Lancaster and they show the log home and smokehouse from the Bowman Station farm near Burgin, Kentucky and ...
Chinn's Cave House was built in 1929. One story about how the cave came to be was that in the late 1920s Chinn, who had experience wi...